Arts Council of White Lake Announces Change of Seasons Winners

28 Mar 2018 3:07 PM | Anonymous
Blog RSS feed

    Mixed media artists took top honors in the adult division of the Arts Council of White Lake’s 18th annual Change of Seasons juried show. In the youth division, Reeths-Puffer student Violet Renna, for her watercolor piece, won the Arts Council of White Lake Award. The show runs through April 14 at the Nuveen Center in Whitehall.

    Elegy for a Grove, a mixed media drawing by Laurel Geis, garnered juror Mandy Cano Villalobos’s vote for first place in the adult division. Metamorphosis, a masterfully completed painting by Hana Girdvainis-Sawyer, took the second place ribbon at the March 10 awards ceremony. Lori McElrath-Eslick of North Muskegon earned the third place ribbon for Spring Blues. Honorable mention ribbons were awarded to Peter Johnson for a ceramic sculpture; and to Diane Zoellmer for her photography. Candace Farmer won the ACWL ribbon for a mixed media art piece Love is Shiny.

    Villalobo, an art instructor at Kendall College of Art & Design and project-based artist, wrote in her juror’s statement, “Each piece displays a personal exploration of the artist’s imagination, and a knowledgeable experimentation with the medium.”

    The awards reception included recognition of the companion youth competition. Seventeen area youth received awards in four age categories. The top winners in each category represent a variety of artistic techniques, from Krystianna Llano’s painting, Thoughts of Summer, in the K-2 category, to Julia Ojala’s mixed media piece, Julie, in the Grades 9-12 category. A creative shadow box by Natalie Kellogg, Shadow Gallery, won first prize in the Grades 6-8 category, while a bright digital art creation, Wild Fire by Peter Llano, took the top prize in the Grades 3-5 category.

    All accepted entries are on display and many are available for purchase at the Nuveen Center, 106 E. Colby Street. Admission is always free.

    Change of Seasons is made possible by generous donations from the community, including Jack and Laura Schultz, Judy Stojak, Chris and Deanna Cullen, and a donation in memory of Jeanne Ingalls. Prizes range from $100 to $300 in the adult show; youth awards range from $15 to $50.

    Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software